Maples Elementary School

Alberta Muirhead Teacher of the Year Award

Dear Maples Families,

Time Is Running Out
To Nominate Your Favorite Teacher!

The clock is ticking and time is running short to nominate your favorite Dearborn Public Schools teacher for the 2015 Alberta Muirhead Teacher of the Year Award. The deadline for submitting applications is Thursday, April 2, 2015.  Click here for the entry forms or you can pick it up at any Dearborn public school and the district’s Administration Office, 18700 Audette.

Hard Copy Teacher Nomination Form can be dropped off or mailed to the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce, 22100 Michigan Avenue, Dearborn, MI  48124, or fax to (313) 584-9818. Adults may assist students when necessary but no more than two teachers can be nominated per student.

Students can nominate new or veteran teachers whom they feel have made outstanding contributions to the teaching profession. Pre-K through second grade students are asked to describe how their teacher makes learning fun. Students at this category can include a nice drawing if they wish but it will not be part of the selection process. Third through fifth-grade students will need to describe how their teacher has created a classroom where learning is positive and fun.  Middle school students (grades 6-8) are asked to explain how their teacher connects classroom learning with everyday life. Students in high school must describe how their teacher is preparing them to be successful beyond high school.

Applications will be assessed on quality of the nomination, not on the number received. Award judges are members of the Dearborn Chamber Education Committee and are not provided with the teachers’ names.

One winner from Pre-K through 2nd grade, 3rd-5th grade, middle, and high school will be announced at a special ceremony, Wednesday, May 20, 2015, at the Ford Community and Performing Arts Center. The Alberta Muirhead Teacher of the Year Award is sponsored by the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce.

Teachers selected to receive the Teacher of Year Award are being recognized as positive role models who consistently provide unique, productive, positive classroom experiences. Teachers selected receive a $1,000 cash prize, a plaque commemorating their achievement, and will be part of a select group of Dearborn teachers who have been recognized by the community for their dedication and passion for teaching.

“Professional, compassionate teachers can be found throughout our district. They are dedicated to their craft and to the academic success of the students in their classrooms. This award is a great way for our students to honor and thank their teachers,” commented Dearborn Public Schools Superintendent Mr. Brian Whiston.

Thank you!